Zorin stuttering after blank screen

Hello!

I’ve been using Zorin Core for a couple of months now on my desktop and laptop. This is my first Linux distro that I’m attempting to use full time. So far, it’s been an enjoyable experience! :blush:

I do however keep getting the following issue with my laptop:

Each time the screen goes blank and I wake the device I find that Zorin is stuttering every couple of seconds. After I restart the device everything starts working as normal. I have done some searching and reading online and tested different graphics driver options offered in the additional drivers but have had no success. I’m hoping a post here on the forum might get me pointed in the right direction to resolve this issue.

Laptop Specs:
CPU: Intel i7 10750H
RAM: 16GB
Storage: 500GB NVME
GPU: RTX 2070 (also with an Intel integrated GPU)
Manufacture: MSI GL65 Leopard

Is anyone able to offer some guidance on how I can troubleshoot this issue? Thanks in advance.

Can you describe your issue in depth?
It is very tricky to describe visualizations. Would you say that "stutter" is comparable to the word "lag"? Or more comparable to the word "flickering?"

You mentioned PC and Notebook- are you experiencing this problem on just one or both?

Does the stutter occur only on Wake from Suspend? Or also from startup or Logout /login? Or by wake from "screen goes dark" are you referring to Power Management timeout that locks the screen after a period of inactivity- and does it only occur then?

Can you relay your kernel version:

uname -a

Can you relay the grub parameters that you are using currently?

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

Just these lines:

GRUB_DEFAULT=
GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=
GRUB_TIMEOUT=
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=

Hi Aravisian,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.