Desktop completely hangs while web browsing

I've been using Zorin for almost 2 weeks now and I'm completely new to linux entirely. I use google chrome for my normal work but sometimes the computer completely freezes cursor doesn't move, desktop display can't be turned off, keyboard neither normal keys nor keys such as caps lock or num lock fail to switch on the light present on the keyboard. It seems to only happen while web browsing and only way to get out of this is doing a force shutdown and switching it on again. I'm currently using Zorin OS 16 Core Version, how can I prevent this? I apologize if this has been asked here already or I'm using incorrect tags for the question. Thank You

How much RAM do you have?
How did you install Chrome Browser?
It sounds, by your description, like it is Filling the RAM completely.

Ya, Zorin Os doesn't have chrome and chromium in there repositories. And I don't advise you to use Flatpak or Snap for an important application like browsers. The steps to install Chromium(Free and Open Source version of Chrome)

1. Download from Linux Mint Repo

Dowload Chromium .deb from Linux Mint, choose the latest version.
Index of /pool/upstream/c/chromium/

1. Open your File Manager (Nautilus) and locate chromium_92.0.4515.159_linuxmint1+uma_amd64.deb

2. Open your Terminal with Ctrl + Alt + T the type then following

#This will install the chromium
sudo dpkg -i chromium_92.0.4515.159_linuxmint1+uma_amd64

1. Customize Chromium since it's from Linux Mint it will have bunch of Linux Mint stuff added to it, you can remove all the changes Linux Mint.

2. Enjoy

Yes you can use the software store by double click on the .deb file but sometimes it's faster to do it the old fashion way. Keep in mind, if Linux Mint updates chromium the name might change.
:smile:

1 Like

Please give use more system information if you can.