Help to get back to desktop environment

Hi there :slight_smile:

I just installed the 17.1 Pro version of Zorin OS some days ago and would be thankful for some support with something.

After I experienced some brower issues I wanted to try some different desktop environments and installed also the 16 Lite version to see if xfce would fit better.

When I could choose the desktops after restart I wasn't sure which description belonged to which desktop and I then decided to remove the 16 Lite installation.

After restart I could not get in a desktop environment. Login shows now a login possibility through terminal and then a welcome message.

I am just learning all this... And there might have been a mistake somewhere...

I would be happy to get back to a graphic environment, could someone maybe help with that?

Thank you so much!

Gday @Julie , Welcome to the community.

As you have purchased the pro Edition, you are able to download & use Zorin OS Lite,

The easiest way is to install Zorin OS 17.1 core,
Then i would run Zorin OS 17 Lite "Alongside the 1st OS.

Another good idea if your just trying the DE's etc.
Install a VM (virtual machine, I recommend "Boxes") & load other OS's into them.

Please remember to backup any data before installing again.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Thank you for your message Ocka!

Yes, I currently thought about to better work with a virtual machine for such things... And think a complete new installation would be needed to clear things.

That was a bit the reason for my post. I would be happy to save some documents and helpful links before that, I documented what I installed and how and some commands...

But I can not log in to a desktop environment like I described. It boots everytime in a terminal environment. Is there a command to get to a desktop again?