How to change task bar menu type and more Zorin 16 pro

Hey guys, I'm brand new to Zorin. I just switched to Linux from Windows last wk. Tried both Linux Mint and Manjaro KDE. Just installed Z Pro yesterday. Gnome is killing me!! I can't figure out how to do the most simple of things. Like...

1. How do I select which type of menu I want to use on the task bar? Different layouts provide different menu/app launchers, but in the layout I want, there is no option to change the menu type.
  2. Is there a way to create our own layout?
  3. How do I get the weather to show up beside the date and time?

I've already installed gnome tweaks + all the extensions, but it's scope is still minimal. II've read the help manual, searched google + these forums, but can't find anything that give direct instruction. So appreciate any help!!

This is why I use Zorin Lite (XFCE4).
Gnome was killing me.

It honestly amazes me how a Windows user says they want to get away from "controlling Microsoft" and move to Gnome, which is far more restrictive and far more controlling than Microsoft ever was.
It really boggles my mind.

I can answer all of your above questions on XFCE... On Gnome... Not so much. Perhaps @Storm or @FrenchPress can be more helpful.

1 Like

I do not understand what you meant by "menu type". Do you mean add/remove launchers? You can just drag and drop.

Own layout - I do not think it is possible. But there are ample options in "Appearance" to let you chose from.

I only use the date/time weather indicator. This has to be answered by someone who uses weather applet.

The weather is build-in in time/date.

I think OP is asking something to place in taskbar.

When I was using Mint XFCE, I used to have a weather plug in.
But I do not think such thing exists in GNOME.

This extension works for weather next to time and date

https://extensions.gnome.org/extension/750/openweather/

1 Like

It's on the wishlist in the feedback forum.

1 Like