Modern Nvidia Drivers

Hi,
I am completely new to Linux but have an old 2009 iMac that I want to install Zorin OS16 Core onto and replace MacOS completely.
I have seen lots of chat about Nvidia drivers and want to make the right choice at installation as I am not sure I am skilled enough yet to correct things afterwards. My drivers are:NVIDIA GeForce 9400 256MB.
I will be using this for watching movies, email and browsing not gaming. Should I choose the Modern Nvidia Drivers option or use the standard install? Any advice will be much appreciated.

Hi there,

I am assuming you flashed the Zorin OS installation ISO on a USB stick and you are using this to boot from.

If I have assumed this correctly, I think you could just try and selecting the Nvidia boot option. As far as I know, what this does is load the nvidia drivers for the 'live' environment, which could potentially prevent display problems during installation.

Then hopefully your system will boot fine in a live session. You can use this try and see if all the hardware works. You can even install some smaller applications and software in the live environment to see if it runs. Two things to note:

1. You have only limited storage space available for installing software in the live environment.
  2. 'Disk performance' will be poor compared to an installation on an internal drive. This is especially noticeable when starting applications.

Mind you that any changes you make to Zorin OS in the live session, do not affect your current installation.

Once you're sure that everything works as intended, you can choose to install Zorin OS.

Also:

• I see that a 2009 iMac does not have an integrated GPU. Therefore you should be using 'some' driver for the nVidia GPU. This can be a proprietary driver from nVidia (best performance) or a Nouveau driver (open source).