No automute when headphone is connected, other strange bahaviour of audio

Hi there, I am completely new to linux and i recently decided to say goodbye to MS and installed the beautiful Z16. Everything works a treat and my very small Asus R209H is faster and more responsive than it was in its last W10 days. However, I have an audio issue. I do have sound, but when I plug in the headphones the speakers do not automute. Did a search (many searches) and found I needed to use alsamixer. BUT Alsamixer has no automute column, the first column is called headphone but the title is in red and the values are 00. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I need to add that when trying to adjust the sound settings from the taskbar, when testing the speakers the right and left channel are randomly swapped sometimes, for no obvious reason. Thanks for any help.

Hi and welcome to the forum. Can you please edit your forum profile to indicate which edition of Z16 you have e.g. Core, Lite etc.

Can you enter alsamixer, hit F6 and check correct sound card is shown as default. Then hit F5 to show All channels and post a screenshot here.

Hi and thanks for your answer. I have now completed my profile and I am running Z16 core. When I enter alsamixer and hit F6 I can see that there is no default sound card at all. I include a screenshot of this. Hitting F5 has no effect, if I scroll down to soundcard one I get a number of inactive and inaccessible columns. As I explained I am new at this.
no controls

schermafdruk 2

My mistake, do sudo apt —reinstall install alsa-utils

[quote="carmar, post:4, topic:14823"]
sudo apt —reinstall install alsamixer[/quote]

I tried it, it returned 'invalid command', then took out the space after apt, even altered the command a little to try again, but this returned 'command not found.

schermafbeelding 3
tried sudo apt-uninstall alsamixer as well, also 'not found'.

My mistake, do sudo apt —reinstall install alsa-utils