Nvidia drivers not working on 17.1 or 17.2

I recently bought a new laptop with a Ryzen 7 CPU and an Nvidia RTX 4070 GPU (link to model). I've been using Windows on my desktop so far (and will keep doing so because of gaming), but I figured I'd give Linux another shot on my laptop (I'm a software developer with some linux experience from work, so I should have the basic technical skills).

Anyway, the graphics drivers have unfortunately been an absolute PITA. To avoid a lengthy wall of text, I'll summarize my steps a bit:

• laptop arrived
  • installed Zorin OS 17.1
  • graphics drivers didn't work properly
  • switch between various driver version (535, 550, etc.)
  • install/edit various stuff (that was a few weeks ago, I don't remember all the details)
  • nothing worked
  • ignored it for a bit because I didn't want to deal with the problem
  • fresh install: dual boot with Win11 and Kubuntu 2024.04
  • graphics work fine on Win11 as far as I can tell
  • driver install with "ubuntu-drivers" (not the custom Zorin OS settings) throws the same errors
  • accidentally brick the partition table because I thought it was a good idea to enable bitlocker on a dual-boot system with only one disk
  • fresh install: dual boot with Zorin OS 17.2 and Win11 (Zorin encrypted, Windows not)
  • graphics drivers still busted

When I say the drivers are broken, here's what I mean:

• random screen shutoff for a second or two (screen goes black)
  • colorful artifacts (horizontal lines)
  • screen goes white and either doesn't recover at all until I force-reboot, or only after closing the lid for a few seconds and reopening (mostly the latter)
  • system doesn't recognize the 4070 as the GPU (Settings > About shows "GFX1103_R1")
  • nvidia-smi only sometimes works (only with some version of the driver, on the current Zorin OS 17.2 install with 550 drivers it doesn't throw any errors and includes an RTX4070 in the displayed "table")