PROBLEM: No Root File System is Defined

Hi - first timer here guys, trying to leave Windows for Linux.

I've got a 16gb flash drive and have, thus far, followed all the instructions on this page.

I get as far as installation, but it seems like it's literally trying to install FROM the flash drive, TO the flash drive. It's only showing one partition, which is 16gb... nothing at all about my internal hard drive, and no matter what I try (which granted, isn't much because I'm a newb) it keeps giving me the same error.

Would love some help here.
Thanks!

First thing, welcome to the community. As much as we love zorin, almost all the power users will tell you, don't use etcher. Rufus on windows or unetbootin on windows or Linux. If etcher hasn't ruined your flash drive, check the md5 checksum to ensure an uncorrupted image, then remake the usb with one of the other tools. Etcher causes many issues more than it ever does as it's designed.

Read up on the tutorials section of how to install... there are helpful recommendations that will make everything go smoothly.

Fast boot in Microsoft 10, fast boot and secure boot in bios all should be disabled... hibernation in windows should be disabled.... all of these are outlined in tutorials.

Changing partition size for windows disk, what partitions to make and recommended sizes are again all mentioned in tutorials category of this forum.

Try these steps and let us know how it goes.

1 Like

EDIT: Fully agree with Harvey that Etcher should be avoided at all costs. I use Unetbootin. Worth burning a new install on the USB with Unetbootin or Rufus before looking into the below.
/end EDIT

From your BIOS settings (Please look up a How-To guide based on your year, make and model from the manufacturer), ensure that your storage mode is Set to AHCI and not set to RAID. If set to RAID< this can cause the hdd to not be detectable.