Schmilblick or "show and tell" time

Talking about cooking I really have to ask @Bourne if he can tell what it is:

1 Like

Polish food. If this isn't a pickled cucumber or squash?

2 Likes

This is special taste in Sweden.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRAluSEqufs

1 Like

Bingo!

I planted cucumber this summer just to make this :slight_smile:
(Because all store bought cucumbers are waxed here).
I managed to get an authentic Russian pickles precipice (which is pretty close to the Polish version) from my colleague's mom.

I studied applied microbiology at Japanese University. That knowledge helps to make fermented foods :slight_smile:

My plan is to recreate that memorable Golonka (+ pickles) we tasted in Warsaw when we were there a couple of years ago when my husband had a concert there.

Unfortunately, I could not find that divine real Pils in France so far :frowning:

1 Like

Bigos also is pickled and good. That is nice always when our topic we spoken start about topic then go down and we talking a diffrent topic like her a kitchen.

1 Like

...Master Distractor...

Oops.
We got caught :sweat_smile:

I will split the thread.

OK everyone,
I split the thread with my moderator's magic wand :star2:

Now we can talk about Polish foods or any unconventional photos you might want to show.

This is my cucumber garden - just to prove that I am not fibbing :wink:

In UK they are called Wallys. Pickled gerkins.
Often found in Fish & Chip shops alongside pickled onions and pickled eggs.

EDIT: See here: How to pickle gherkins - Two Thirsty Gardeners
and Pickled eggs recipe | BBC Good Food

1 Like

??
Do you have a recipe for that?
I think I've never seen it.

This one is just like the pickles in France.
Polish/Russian pickles are different kettle of fish.

Those types of pickles uses absolutely no vinegar but rely on the lactic fermentation by halophilic (means salt loving) bacteria naturally reside on the cucumber skin.

It looks very interesting.