Upgrade Kernel

I noticed the kernel was 5.4.something. But I noticed kernels are now up to 5.13. How do I upgrade the kernel? I’m pretty new to Linux.

1 Like

5.4 is the currently stable kernel supported in Ubuntu 18.04 and Zorin OS 15.
This thread relates to Just Bought Zorin 15.3 Ultimate but not 16 - #2 by Aravisian

You may want to peruse Zorin OS 16, instead.

Currently, the Zorin OS 16 Beta comes with 5.8 kernel. This is highly likely to Climb once Zorin OS 16 is fully released.

When it comes to a Linux kernel - the newest is not necessarily the one you want. As the kernel number climbs upward, this means that the kernel version includes patches or additions for newer software. If you are running an older machine- those additions would mean nothing to you. The newest Kernel is also rolling release - which means it may have Fresh new Kernel bugs and issues that have yet to be ironed out.
As long as a computer works properly on an older kernel - then that is the kernel that you want. Upping to the newest, just for the sake of seeing a bigger number on your kernel, can actually lead to problems. Let the vetted kernel come to your system from the developers that have tested it in order to have the best results.

Now... That being said...

You can upgrade your kernel by installing the version that you want. While you are on Zorin 15.3 Ultimate, you should be able to install the latest kernel in Synaptic (If you need synaptic, you can install it with sudo apt install synaptic in terminal).
Open Synaptic, then click the Search button. Enter into it "linux headers" and then Select the version of the Mainline Signed Kernel you need. You will need
Linux Headers
Linux Image
Linux Modules.